Abergele Town Council

MINUTES

The Annual Meeting of the Council, was held on Thursday 12th May 2022 at 6.45 pm by remote attendance.

1/22 Welcome & Opening Prayers

The Mayor Cllr. Alan Hunter opened the meeting and welcomed Past Mayors, Distinguished Guests, Ladies and Gentlemen, his Fellow Members to the meeting and invited Rev. Kate Johnson to offer the Opening prayer

2/22 Attendance Register

The Mayor, Cllr. A Hunter,

Cllrs: T. Brennan; D Fetherstonhaugh; J R Jones; S. Jones-Roberts; P E Luckock; C. McCoubrey; N. Williams; A. Wood;

Mrs M. J. Evans (Town Clerk); Ms. Ruth Parker (Deputy Town Clerk); Mr Jesse Lock (Place Plan Coordinator); Mr Nigel Acott (Acting Deputy Clerk)

RT Hon. David Jones MP

Mayoral guests, and Past Mayors

3/22 Apologies for Absence

Apologies were received from:

Cllr. D. Green; Gwyn Jones, Past Clerk

4/22 Minutes

A copy of the Minutes of the last Annual Meeting, held on the 17th May 2021 (which were approved and signed at the following Ordinary Meeting of the Council) were RECEIVED

5/22 Policies

The following Policies APPROVED by the Town Council during 2021/22 were ADOPTED.

a)	Code of Conduct	Min No:	441/21
b)	Financial Regulations	Min No:	441/21
c)	Standing Orders	Min No:	441/21

6/22 A copy of 2021/22 Inventory of Contents for Abergele Town Council was RECEIVED

7/22 Election of Town Mayor for the year 2022/23

The Mayor called for nominations for the Office of Town Mayor for 2022/23. It was PROPOSED that the current Mayor, Cllr. Alan Hunter is Town Mayor by Cllr. Shirley Jones-Roberts and seconded by Cllr. Andrew Wood

There being no further nominations, CIIr. Alan Hunter indicated his willingness to accept the Office of Mayor and it was UNANIMOUSLY RESOLVED to elect him as Town Mayor for 2022/23.

8/22 Installation of the New Mayor and Signing of the Declaration of Acceptance of Office

Cllr. Hunter was invested with the Mayor's Chain of Office by his mother and read aloud and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, which was then to be countersigned by the Clerk, as Proper Officer of the Council on its return. Cllr. Hunter indicated that his wife Cheryl had agreed to continue in the role of Mayoress.

Cllr. Hunter was then presented with the Past Mayors medallion by his mother on behalf of the Council.

9/22 Address by the Mayor

Cllr. Hunter thanked his fellow members for the confidence placed in him and stated that after the last few years of Covid was looking forward to a more normal Mayoral year.

10/22 Election of Deputy Mayor for the year 2022/23

The Mayor called for nominations for the Office of Deputy Mayor for 2022/23. It was PROPOSED that the current Deputy Mayor Cllr. Charlie McCoubrey is Deputy Mayor by Cllr Alan Hunter and this was SECONDED by Cllr. D. Fetherstonhaugh

There being no further nominations, it was UNANIMOUSLY RESOLVED to elect Clir. McCoubrey as Deputy Mayor for 2022/23.

11/22 Installation of the Deputy Mayor and Signing of the Declaration of Acceptance of Office

As the meeting was by remote attendance, Cllr. McCoubrey was invested with the Deputy Mayor's Chain of Office by Mrs Gaynor McCoubrey on behalf of the Mayor. He then read aloud and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, countersigned by the Clerk, as Proper Officer of the Council on its return.

Cllr. McCoubrey thanked the Mayor and his fellow Members for the confidence placed in him and indicated that his wife, Gaynor had kindly agreed to act as the Deputy Mayoress.

12/22 Freedom of the Town

The Mayor presented two long standing members of the Town Council Cllr. Richard Waters and Cllr. Brian Roberts, with the Freedom of the Town. The actual Award was presented at a face to face venue, after the closure of the meeting

13/22 Long Service Award

The Mayor presented two long standing members of the Town Council Cllr. Delyth MacRae and Cllr. Sam Rowlands, with the long service award. The Award was presented at a face to face venue after the closure of the meeting

14/22 Appointment of Representatives to Outside Bodies

- The Council's representatives on Outside Bodies for 2021/22 was RECEIVED, CONSIDERED and APPROVED
- The continued delegated authority to the Clerk and other Officers as set out in the Delegation to Officers Policy was RECEIVED, CONSIDERED and APPROVED

16/22 Appointment of Committees

- (i) It was RESOLVED to confirm the continued delegation of full decision making powers to the two Standing Committees of the Council in accordance with the approved Terms of Reference
 - (a) General Purposes and Planning Committee
 - (b) **Policy and Finance Committee**
- (ii) It was RESOLVED that the continued delegation of full decision making powers to the Place Plan Committee in accordance with the approved Terms of Reference.
- (iii) It was RESOLVED to elect a Chairman and Vice Chairman for the Committees as follows:
 - (a) General Purpose and Planning Committee
 The Mayor called for nominations for the role of Chairman of the
 Committee for 2022/23.
 Cllr. D. Fetherstonhaugh was PROPOSED, SECONDED and
 APPROVED as Chairman

The Mayor called for nominations for the role of Vice Chairman of the Committee for 2022/23.

Cllr. Luckock was PROPOSED, SECONDED and APPROVED as Vice Chairman

(b) **Policy and Finance Committee**

The Mayor called for nominations for the role of Chairman of the Committee for 2022/23.

Cllr. Wood was PROPOSED, SECONDED and APPROVED as Chairman

The Mayor called for nominations for the role of Vice Chairman of the Committee for 2021/22. Cllr N. Williams was PROPOSED, SECONDED and APPROVED as Vice Chairman

17/22 The Terms of Reference for Committees was ADOPTED

18/22 Members to the Committees

The appointment of Members to the Committees was CONSIDERED. The membership of each of the Committees was REVIEWED. A maximum membership of seven members was nominated for each of the three committees.

- 19/22 Confirmation that the Town Council holds the relevant insurance cover in respect of all insurable risks was RECEIVED
- 20/22 The subscriptions to other bodies was REVIEWED

21/22	The Council's expenditure incurred under s.137 of the Local Government Act 1972 and the Power of Well-being was RECEIVED
22/22	Conclusion of Meeting
23/22	Award presentation and photographs were held at the Pen y Bont, Bridge Street, Abergele following the remote meeting.

Meeting Closed at 7:25pm	
Signed	(Chairman)