Abergele Town Council

MINUTES

A Special Ordinary Meeting of the Council was held on Monday 27th September 2021, at 6.45 p.m. by remote attendance.

239/21 Attendance Register

The Mayor, Cllr. A Hunter,

Cllrs: Dr. M. Baker; T. Brennan; N. Eden; D Fetherstonhaugh; P Heap-Williams (arrived at 6:50pm); C. McCoubrey; D A MacRae; R.G. Waters; N. Williams;

Mrs M. J. Evans (Clerk),

Mrs L Whalley (Deputy Clerk)

Mr. J. Lock (Place Plan Project Co-ordinator)

Mrs S James (Administration Officer)

240/21 Apologies for Absence

Apologies were received from:

Cllrs: G. Frost; S. Jones-Roberts; B. C. Roberts; S Rowlands; A. Wood;

241/21 **Declaration of Interest**

- Members were reminded that they must declare the **existence** and **nature** of any personal interests (using the form provided for this purpose).

None were declared

242/21 Code of Conduct

a) The Mayor Cllr. Alan Hunter welcomed Mr Rhun Ap Gareth, Head of Law and Governance at Conwy County Borough Council, to the meeting who provided members with an overview of the Code of Conduct, including the standards required in public life. Mr. Ap Gareth provided an update on the current situation in Wales, informing members that the guidance is under review. The Penn Review – An Independent Review of Ethical Framework, is due to be submitted to the Minister in the next few weeks and will be in place by May 2022. The Local Government Wales Act 2021 includes new obligations for Councillors and Councils and he also provided an overview of the Nolan Principals.

Social media is considered to be a useful tool to be able to engage with the public but warned to be wary of which role members are representing when posting and recommended that a Councillor does not send a personal email from a Councillor account. Equality of opportunity under S216 and S217 of the Act and respect of others was discussed.

Prejudicial and Personal Interests and examples of what is classified in each category was discussed.

The Mayor thanked Rhun Ap Gareth for his informative presentation to members.

Meeting Closed at 7:35pm	
Signed	(Chairman)